Pages of Magic

“Today’s photo prompt reminded me of myself and my brother. While I was and still do always have my nose in a book and my mind adventuring in another world. My brother acted as if books were dangerous. He’d never read one if there was nothing else left on the planet to do! You see, for some of us, words are magic creating a world in our minds and transporting us there. For others, words are just letters on a page that do nothing and so are boring. What does a book of words do for you?”

I wrote this poem for the following prompts.
Sadje’s What Do You See – Image credit;  Ben White @ Unsplash
Word of the Day Challenge — Protagonist
Fandango’s One Word Challenge — Outrageous

Pages of Magic

There’s a world within this book
All I see is a load of words
Read it and you’ll see – look
But reading is only for nerds

Look Sarah is the protagonist
What? She’s good at playing tag?
No, she’s the hero, Sis
Reading is such a drag

But can’t you feel the magic
No, I’d rather watch TV
Your lack of imagination is tragic
At least I’d have pictures to see

I love magical written worlds
I don’t see a single spell
It enchants me as the story unfurls
You’re mad in a nutshell

It’s a dust jacket actually
Whatever you say
Just try some adventure and fantasy
Nah, the X-box is free to play

Big sister watched her go and smiled.
She knew her imagination was a gift
Reading for her was exciting and wild
For others books left them miffed

For her reading was contagious
She always yearned for a new story
Others might find it outrageous
Whilst reading she was in her glory

She was glad she could see
The visions a story created
She grinned as her mind was set free
Another magical world awaited


Don’t forget Holly Ward investigates, Stolen Treasures is out on Amazon now!

A recent bank robbery. A saddened man. A coded message. Can they all be connected?
Young Sleuth Holly Ward is determined to help the man. It’s not long before she too comes under assault from a group of dangerous individuals. In the face of intimidation, abduction and even murder can Holly solve the clues and catch the criminals before she becomes the next Stolen Treasure?


Thanks for reading my friends.

There’s more in the Poetry CornerPoetry Nook, and the Short Story Collection

Have a great day!

31 thoughts on “Pages of Magic

Add yours

    1. Don’t they? I feel I have more friend on pages than in real life!
      I don’t think they close their mind to it. It’s just there mind doesn’t create and see what ours do when we read. So they simply never get it.

      Thanks for reading, Fandango.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started