Kiss of Death

Good morning, my friends. Ethan survived one Kiss of Death during his Deception Game, can he survive a second?
I also used the following prompts:
Ragtag Daily Prompt — Star-Crossed
Pensitivity’s Three Things Challenge — Subtle, Callous, Reprisal
Fandango’s One Word Challenge — Reprisal
Let’s go get in trouble, shall we?

There I was at the harbour, having robbed aristocrats of a fortune at the masquerade and fallen foul of Coraline and her kiss of death. She’d taken everything and left me with a black lipstick kiss and a contact number on a business card.
Of course, I had to call her…

A little after midnight my call led me to the city’s rat-infested industrial sector. The rusty building sign read, ‘Kitty Kat’s Pet Supplies. Its weed and rubbish-strewn exterior said it went out of business a decade ago.

I reached the former reception door and froze.

“You came, darling.” Coraline’s velveteen voice was unmistakable.

“Couldn’t resist another kiss.”

“Hmm, you have a death wish. I approve.” she purred as she emerged from the shadows. Her stunning gown was gone, replaced with a sharp black suit. She smoothed her hands over my arms and back as she passed and then beckoned me into the building with a graceful wave.

A deep breath caught in my throat, “I had to enter and yet it felt like stepping into a spider’s death trap.

The warehouse was dark. Coraline led me into the former canteen. A woman clad in a gray cat suit, threw a knife. It zipped the length of the room and thunked into the centre of a target. A second female had curled herself about a rope hanging from the room above. She climbed it with the agility of a panther.

“I see you have friends,” I said, “Must be —” a garotte snapped around my throat. I felt instant pressure and pain in my head and neck.

“Many,” said a fourth woman releasing me at once. She had ginger curls and a sinister grin as she stepped around me. “We are the cat burglars known as the Kiss of Death.”

“Understood,” I said, massaging my throat.

The knife thrower hit the bullseye again, “We have taken whatever we needed for twenty years and not one of us has ever been caught.”

The second woman dropped from above and cartwheeled to her feet. “And we never will.”

“Impressive.” I focused on Coraline. “You’re not the chancellor’s daughter are you?”

“My father is Frank Mayweather. He was chancellor in the 90s. So. I didn’t technically lie,”

“Fair enough, so, why did you entrap me?”

“You needed another kiss,” said the knife thrower.

My heart rate increased, what had I gotten myself into?”

Coraline must have sensed my fears, “We have a job for you, complete it successfully and your kiss will not be fatal,” she said.

What was I missing? Here were a quartet of capable ladies, why did they need me? “We both know I’m a master thief, but surely you can handle the stealing just fine. Why seduce me?”

“You have a penis,” replied the climber now hanging inverted on her rope.

“She’s the observant one then,” I said to Coraline.

She chuckled as she produced a manilla folder and handed it to me. “A very wealthy man by the name of Wilbur Charrington will be at ‘Auric’ the Gentleman’s Only Club at 9 pm tomorrow. He will be purchasing a fortune in Jubilee diamonds from an African blood diamond baron Kingsley Kariuki. Your task is to make those diamonds ours.” 

“Fancy a few sparkles do you?”

“In a manner of speaking. We have honest reasons. The folder contains photos and information on the club, players and diamonds.”

“Say I agree, what’s the plan?” the pressure had returned to my head only this time it was the weight of the situation.

“Well, master thief,” Coraline smoothed my hair, “We’ll leave that in your capable hands.”

“If I refuse?”

Ginger blew me a kiss.

“Wonderful, murdered if I do. Kissed to death if I don’t.”

“Exactly, want a Rolex?”  the climber revealed the watch I’d stolen at the masquerade ball with a cheeky grin.

“I better be off then. Lots of planning to do,” I said, feeling my clothes stick to the cold sweat dampening my body.

“We’ll be watching,” Coraline revealed a dossier on me, my address, my parent’s address and images of me stealing at the masquerade. “Don’t plan for too long, wouldn’t want the police to get this, would we?”

I declined an answer and walked from the building. Make a play for the diamonds or save my arse by catching a plane to America? Who was I kidding, my reprisal would arrive before daylight.

Master thieves don’t steal for the need, we made our fortune already. We steal simply to see if we can. I drove away from the warehouse with one question in mind. Could I steal those diamonds and avoid a fatal kiss from Coraline in the process?

There were two main problems to solve. I had to gain entrance to a rich members-only gentleman’s club. Then I had to get myself into the position to snatch the loot.

The dazzling black and gold bar within Auric reflected the grandeur the club’s wealthy guests oozed. I’d never seen so many priceless watches and jewels being openly worn. It was hard to keep my fingers clasped around my Martini — stirred. I needed a little alcohol tonight.

“Sir, you must leave. This is a members-only club and you, sir, are not a member!” said a bouncer draped in a white Italian suit and black shoes.

“But I …”

“Out! Now!”

I grinned from the bar as the bouncer forcibly ejected a young man. He wasn’t the only one here without legal membership.  A little twinkling of the old laptop keys allowed me to create a membership card and enter myself into the club’s security system. 

 That was the easy part, now I had to pull off the heist.

“Sorry about the affray, sir. Can I serve you another Martini?” said the bartender nervously teasing his bowtie.

I finished my existing drink and chewed on the olive. “Why, thank you,”

“Right away, Sir.”

Before the drink arrived Kariuki entered bearing a crocodile skin attache case. He was a portly Nigerian wearing a white suit, red shirt and striped tie. His dark glasses matched the tight curls of his ashen hair. Flanked by two black-suited bodyguards, he was a man with a dangerous air about him. 

An image of Coraline entered my mind, a kiss from her seemed a good option just then.

Kariuki whispered something to his guards. One peeled away and towered alongside me.

“Good evening,” his voice was as deep as thunder. He locked his callous yellowed eyes upon me for a moment.

“Good Evening,” I replied, noting the subtle bulge of a pistol concealed in the waistband beneath his jacket. I was hoping he wouldn’t hear my heart hammering a warning signal in my chest.

“Bartender, Mr Kariuki requests the attention of Mr Mayweather. Is he present?”

“Of course, Sir. Right upstairs to the left in the presidential lounge.”

“Much obliged.” he nodded to me and returned to his post beside the baron as they used the gold bannister to ascend through the building.

“They’re a scary trio, Sir.” The bartender placed my drink on a coaster adorned with a gold bar.

“Indeed,” I couldn’t resent him for his job serving rich snobs all day. I leaned over the bar with a fifty-pound note. “For your wonderful service, My good man,” I said, folding it into his top pocket. 

“That’s most kind of you, sir,” the bartender blushed and hastened away.

Most sneaky, more like, he was now missing his employee card. I enjoyed the Martini and then let myself through a staff door.

I avoided the kitchen and passed through a corridor. A manager’s office opened to the right.

Occupied — that was no help.

There was a staff lounge close by. I admired an expensive leather trench coat upon a hook. A few clicks of my lockpicks let me into the lockers. Number twelve provided me with a shining waiter’s mate and a second keycard, this one for a till.

Now, I took the back stairs ready to get my prize. A young waiter swished along the corridor, I pressed against the wall and then straightened myself and walked into the Presidential Suite bar.

There was no bartender, I presumed private business relied upon no staff being present. That worked for me.

“You there, we asked for privacy. Why did you disturb us?” Charrington demanded to know. He was a grey-haired man with a strong physique showing through his silver suit. A duo of meaty bodyguards flanked him.

“My humblest apologies, sir. Mr Goldberg instructed me to provide you with refreshments if it pleases you?” I crossed my fingers behind my back. This would work or I’d be riddled with bullets in a second.

“You will leave at —”

Kariuki raised his hand.  “Calm now, Mr Charrington. We’ll take a bottle of your finest whisky, bartender.”

“Very good, sir.” I slipped out to the alcohol store and returned with a bottle. “We have a delightful Springbank 1919 at £25000 a bottle. Would that please the gentleman?”

“Perfect, thank you, bartender.”

“Very good, sir.” I hid a shudder as I opened the rare whisky, I could have stolen and sold it for a hundred grand by midnight. “Shall I pour the first round?”

“Carry on, Bartender. Just two glasses. The guards will take Perriers.”

“My pleasure, sir.” I bowed my head and served the drinks adding a little something extra to the Perrier. With them placed upon a tray with a crystal bucket of ice and a matching carafe of water, I approached the table. There were the diamonds in a purple velvet bag. Something that forced me to hide a smile.

“There we are, gentleman. I’ll take my leave. Please summon me should you require anything else at all.”

“Thank you, bartender,”

I bowed and took my leave. I’d gotten within reaching distance of those diamonds and yet there was no way to claim them without getting shot. From the backroom, I watched long enough for the deal to be complete.

Charrington stashed the pouch of diamonds in his jacket pocket. I could tell he was ready to leave at once. Kariuki insisted on chatting like two star-crossed lovers discussing diamonds and money whilst savouring the whisky.   

Something which bought me time. Despite the impossibility of stealing the sparklers. There was something on the table which pointed the way. A keyfob bearing a double ‘R’ symbol.

My exit from the Presidential lounge took me past the staff room again. I stole the trenchcoat from its hook and hastened to the lift.

Beneath the club was a private car park. I’d noticed it on the way in. The lift disgorged me into an immodest foyer. Its centrepiece fountain was a stack of gold bars shimmering with flowing water.

A collection of wealthy cars was parked on display here, Ferraris, a Lamborghini, a brand new Bentley. My target was the Rolls Royce Spectre, in shining battleship grey, it was like a sleek bullet and worth half a million to boot. The black Lexus alongside had to be the guard’s car.

Beyond the lavish roller was a modest old girl, an Aston Martin Vantage. It would be ironic if this were the club owner’s car.

It took seconds to pick the lock and secrete myself in the passenger’s seat to wait for my opportunity.

Footsteps soon echoed within the underground room.

I slipped lower in my seat, peering out the window as Charrington walked into view. He raised a hand to his sweating, pale guards and watched them enter the Lexus.

A weight of relief melted from my shoulders, had the guards driven the Aston, I would have been dead.

Charrington walked around his Roller pausing to polish Eleanor on the bonnet.

My heartbeat echoed in my ears as the Lexus spluttered to life.

Then he was on my side of the car.

I grabbed the Aston’s door handle and swung it open as hard and fast as I could.

Charrington yelped as it slammed into his stomach and barrelled him over.

I cringed at the damage to the car as I leapt out, and banged the door shut, “Oh, my goodness, sir. What a clutz I am.”

“What the hell are you doing?” he yelled.

“I’m so terribly sorry,” I offered my arm, “Let’s get you upright.”

“Thank you,” he said, breathing like an asthmatic.

With an arm under his and my hand on the front of his jacket, I disappeared his diamond tie pin and let it fall to the floor. I uttered another apology and hauled him upright. “There we are,” I soothed as I leaned him against the car.

“Phew, you gave me a fright,” he wheezed.

“I know, I am so sorry. I’m late for work you see.” I grimaced, distraught. “Oh look, you’re all dusty and dishevelled.” I began patting his suit and smoothed his tie with a little sleight of hand.

“For goodness sake leave me alone!” he yelled, slapping my hand away as the guards came to assist. Both holding their stomachs and looking awful.

“Sir, back away please,” said one, his hand under his jacket at the waist.

“I’m sorry again,” I raised my hands and caught sight of something on the floor. “Oh, look. Your tie pin.”

“That’s a Faberge you know,” Charrington said.

I knew that the moment I saw it. The glittering piece was worth ten grand at least. I gathered it from the floor and returned it. “There you are. It’s very nice.”

“Thank you.” Charrington returned it to his tie.

 “I’ll apologize again and take my leave.” I tipped an imaginary hat and strode away.

Charrington got a foot into his Rolls Royce, “Er just a minute.”

I spun to face him. “Certainly, can I help?”

He dipped a hand into his inside pocket and retrieved the velvet pouch. He gave it a cursory glance. “No carry on.”

“Good night, sir.” Now I made my escape from the Auric gentleman’s club. I ignored the lift this time and walked swiftly through a side door that took me to a subway. No doubt a secret exit created to spirit wealthy people away when trouble arose. This is why you always do your homework before infiltrating. It was the perfect escape route.

I emerged a few streets from the club and walked briskly under dark rainy skies. Time to be somewhere far away.

My Jaguar awaited me in a side street. I was relieved to get behind the wheel without the quiet night splitting with police lights and sirens. Still, it was with a sedate pace that I drove into the city.

“Do you have something for me, darling?”

That velveteen voice left me tingling for conflicting reasons. I desired her and yet did not wish to die before midnight. A glance in my rearview mirror revealed her perched on the back seat. “What do you have in mind? A one-way ticket to Hawaii, a winning lottery ticket, or shall I drive to a motel?”

She chuckled. “I adore your sense of humour. I wish for a large collection of a girl’s best friend.” she extended an expectant hand.

I smiled, “If I have such a thing, do I get a kiss?”

“Of course,” she smoothed my arm as I changed gears, “Only you get to live.”

I was a dead man.

“Well?”

I took the velvet pouch from my jacket and dropped it in her hand without looking back. “Et voila.”

“Well done, Darling?” Coraline took out a single diamond. “A lot of charities will benefit from this.”

“What charities?” I asked as I stopped at the traffic lights.

She kissed my cheek and then opened the door, “I’ll be in touch,” then she was gone like a wraith in the night.

I shook my head and grinned. ‘So, you can survive the kiss of Death.’

The End


Thanks for reading my friends.

There’s more in the Poetry CornerPoetry Nook, and the Short Story Collection

Have a great day!

20 thoughts on “Kiss of Death

Add yours

    1. Good morning, Lou.
      I’m so pleased you found this one, having enjoyed the first bit.
      I tried to create a little James Bond type feeling it and I’m delighted that you enjoyed it.
      Thank you so much for reading.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started