The Deception Game

“I’ve always loved the masquerade ball ever since I discovered the Phantom of the Opera. This Week Sadje has given us a man in a mask by Sander Sammy Unsplash for her What Do You See Prompt. Add the word ANTIDOTE from Fandango’s One Word Challenge and we have a story on our hands. Let’s have a ball!”

A wallet bulging with banknotes. I slipped it from the unsuspecting gentleman’s back pocket in a second. With it concealed, I strolled past the trio of violinists. Their harmony soothing as I scanned the aristocrats for another target.

There I was a master thief at the grandest masquerade ball. Concealed behind a ceramic mask and exquisite tuxedo, I was just another guest. An invisible opportunist amid the rich masses.

I bumped into a grey-haired gentleman, his mutton chops visible around his gold theatre mask.

“Pardon me, young fellow,” he said.

“Not at all, my mistake.” I gripped his hand with both of mine. A firm handshake and I was away with his Rolex.

A waiter passed close.

An indulgent flute of champagne does wonders for the nerves. I discarded the glass on the buffet table and removed a pearl necklace from a lady’s clutch bag in the same move.

The musicians struck up a ravishing song as I mingled further. A second wallet left its owner. An expensive item glittered in the light. I knew the owner of the diamond tie-pin. He was the city mayor Dalton Minchin.

“What a wonderful soiree, don’t you think?” he said to his wife,

“It’s splendid darling, the public would detest it should they learn where their taxes are going.”

He tittered. “They know, of course, but are power –”

“Dalton, my good man. Delighted to see you,” I said pressing close and banging him on the back as if we’d been mates forever. I desired to plunge a stiletto knife into his chest.

“Oh, erm. You as well. Mr, er …”

“Northcote went to school and university together. You remember?” I lied.

“Oh, of course. Good to see you.” Dalton chuckled, his twenty thousand pound tiepin already gone.

“You too, keep up the good work, Mr Mayor.” I shook his hand and strode away hiding a smile behind my mask. It was then she appeared.

“Dance with me, Darling,” she asked in a velveteen voice.

“W-who me?” I stuttered. She was majestic, draped in a form-fitting ice-blue gown, stopping short of the knee. The colour matched her eyes as she smiled through her velvet cat mask. I gathered myself and bowed, leading with a hand I said, “Enchanté,”

She blushed and accepted my hand.

This was why a thief always learned to waltz. We arrived on a dance floor brimming with aristocrats and their ladies.

I bowed again and took her hand and waist. “I don’t know your name?”

“Coraline, you are?” she replied as we began to turn to the music.

“Ethan, it’s a pleasure to meet you.” Smoothing my hand from her shoulder, beneath her golden curls to her back, I dipped and turned her into my arms. I could have pinched her diamond earring then, but something warned me this time.

“Pleasures mine.” Her smile was disingenuous.

“Who are you with?”

“My father is the Chancellor,” she revealed.

“Oh,” I took a breath as we changed directions to avoid another giggling young couple. “I see he’s doing a wonderous job of taking care of the country’s money.”

Coraline’s eyes twinkled, “You both are.”

“Pardon me,” I felt my nerves jangle as my lips ran dry.

“I know, Ethan.”

“Know what?” I glanced at the glowing exit sign over her shoulder.

“Where does one sell stolen Rolexes, pearl necklaces and tie pins?”

I was trapped, “I —”

“Don’t try to deny it, that necklace was mine. I saw you take the Rolex and then dip a hand into my clutch bag.” She increased her grip on my hand, her nails close to piercing skin.

By then I was struggling to control my breathing, I needed to run and now! “You caught me. What do you intend to do with me?”

“Well,” she smoothed a hand over my hair, “We could share the profits, darling.”

“What! Why would you consider that?”

“I have my reasons.” She captured my gaze, “Do we have an accord?”

I glanced at the exit again. No way to get there before security could be alerted to catch me. “We do. Meet me in the foyer.”

“Excellent, see you soon, Ethan.” she kissed me.

I tasted roses and felt an almost sincereness, but refused to kiss back.

Then she was gone, spinning between guests.

I took a deep breath, now what was I to do? In that moment I wouldn’t have felt more exposed if I were naked. It was time to leave.

Beyond the exit sign was a marble corridor. I dashed along it, ignoring the lifts. The stairs were quicker, I descended to the ground floor and pushed through the glass doors to the street.

It was then I felt the dagger to the chest. The sharpness blurred my vision as my heart quivered beneath my heaving ribs.

A car swished by in the steady rain.

I gripped a lamp post, straightened myself and pushed on. The sweat beaded my brow, I knew my clammy skin was greyer than the mask I wore.

My chest tightened as I threw the mask into a bin and staggered across the road. There my black jaguar waited for me, I opened the door and tumbled inside.

“Hello again, Ethan,” Coraline slid into the passenger side. She perched elegantly smiling at me.

“What did you do?” I gasped. My vision had blurred to a nauseating level. A wretched tingling had taken over my hands and feet.

“I gave you the kiss of death.”

“Why? I agree to —” A ribbon of pain slammed me against the seat like a tazer round.

Coraline revealed a blue solution in a glass vial. “A nerve agent is paralysing and shutting down your body. This is the only antidote that can save you?”

I could barely see but I reached out a hopeful hand.

“Ut-uh, I want what you stole,” she waggled the vial like a bar of chocolate.

I reached into my inside pocket, my hand barely worked as I took out the Rolex, wallets and necklace. “Here.”

“Thank you,” she opened my mouth and poured the liquid inside.

It burned my throat, “Who are you?” I gasped.

She smiled.

My body burned as if full of fibreglass, My heart rate rocketed as I went ice cold and then darkness …

It was still raining when I woke up in the car. It was no longer parked by the hotel which hosted the masquerade ball. I could hear seagulls and the sound of boat horns in the harbour.

I sat, still tingling from the poison. The antidote must have worked though, they tell me you don’t get banging headaches in heaven.

She was gone, a business card lay on the seat. It was emblazoned with a black lipstick kiss, and the words ‘Call me, master thief.’

I’d survived one kiss of death, something told me, that telephone number might be my second and last. So, why did I long to hear Coraline’s voice again?

The End


Find out what happens here in part two – Kiss of Death


Thanks for reading my friends.

There’s more in the Poetry CornerPoetry Nook, and the Short Story Collection

Have a great day!

39 thoughts on “The Deception Game

Add yours

  1. Such a promising start to a new series , I hope. I’m already looking forward to how the sequel turns out.
    Mason, there is something differnet in your style here. Has something changed in yoour life that’s leading you in new creative avenues?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello, Lou
      Thank you so much, I do wonder what happens if he makes the call. So, I think a sequel is on the cards.
      There’s nothing specific that changed, I am now in a much happier place with my writing and so enjoying the craft again. Also its fun to change the POV and such for a prompt isn’t it. These little stories become experiments that grow us if we let them, I think.
      Thanks again.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, how fun. You’ve reminded me of a book I read where an American married a Venetian – whose Mother did not approve. The Mother fake a car accitentstelling the couple that each had not survived. There is more… but years later the ‘Wife’ had to return to Venice during a Masqurade – where the ‘help’ a) recognized her and B) her husband had to cancel his engagement to a new woman… after finding out that his wife was very much alive!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started