A Moment’s Apocalypse

“Good morning, my friends. Sadje gave us this image of a hug by Image credit; Josue Escoto Unsplash, for her What Do You See Challenge this week.
I also used the following prompts:
Ragtag Daily Prompt – Joker
Pensitivity’s Three Things Challenge — Fool, Prank, Silliness
Fandango’s One Word Challenge — Interrupt
Sometimes we really need a hug, don’t we? It doesn’t matter if it’s from family, friend, or a stranger, sometimes a hug means so much in our time of need. Do you like a hug and for what reason, I bet its not for a reason like this – Buckle up for this one!”

I couldn’t catch a proper breath. The dust and adrenaline left me wheezing like an asthmatic. What the hell happened?

This was April Fool’s Day, a day of silliness, a chance to play the joker. I was no fool and this was no prank. Something had just exploded!

I’d been watching a monster movie on TV when the newsreader’s face cut in. She said ‘We interrupt ­—’ and that was it. The power died as a blast struck my building. A wall of shock and fire blew out the windows and shattered the walls.

Darkness

Silence

For the longest moment, my coughing and wheezing broke the suffocating silence. I lay wearing what felt like the whole building. Everything hurt and I could smell blood as I lay waiting for the angels to take me.

Distant gunfire and explosions became the backdrop of terror.

I tried to roll, to push debris aside, to free a leg. Each move was agonising, ribbons of pain emanated from my ribs, and my shoulder flared in time with the pounding in my head. The weight never relented. I screamed as I forced all my power into the concrete and plasterboard over my head.

It moved an inch!

Hope trembled within me.

I panted for breath, fighting the panic that threatened to overwhelm my stressed senses.

I shoved again, rolling with it this time.

The obstruction slid away, allowing milky light to filter into my cavity.

My mouth was full of dust. I coughed to clear it, then sucked in a lungful of air. It burned my chest and made me cough more.

I sat through tearjerking ribbons of pain in my ribs and dug my legs free, My right knee was blood-stained, a shard of glass sticking through my jeans above the patella.

There was no survival with that in there. I grabbed the glass and yanked it free. A dagger of agony tore from me as a scream.

My flat was gone, I staggered to my feet surrounded by rubble. My bedroom used to be to the left. There was nothing but a gaping drop beyond the crumpled door frame.

The wall my TV occupied was also gone. I could see the city sprawling out there. Fires poured smoke into the darkening sky from many places. The Canary Tower which dominated the skyline was gone.

As I watched two Apache helicopters roared overhead and arced into the city. Tracer rounds erupted from their twin guns and blazed into …

“What the hell is that!”

A monster straight from the movies seemed to buck and writhe under the onslaught. Then it seized a chopper with a tentacle-like arm and hurled it into the other. Both exploded and crashed into a tenement block setting it ablaze.

A numbness descended over me. I felt drool pooling in my mouth as stared frozen at the apocalyptic nightmare playing out in the city.

A missile hissed through the sky and detonated. I saw the creature fall into a cloud of boiling flames. A nearby building exploded and the monster rose with a military jeep in hand. It sent it arcing straight toward me.  

It was time to leave!

I climbed out of my living room and fell into the dark hall through a hole in the wall.

The jeep hit the building like an earthquake. An explosion of fire ripped the upper floor apart.

Fiery debris fell around me, as I pitched into a wall and staggered toward the exit. Was it still open? I prayed it was.

The lights flickered.

A body hung in a gaping hole in the wall.

“Agnes!” she was my elderly neighbour. I supported her childlike weight and checked her pulse. Nothing. “I’m so sorry,” I felt tears washing away the dust and blood covering my face as I lay her on the ground and dropped to my knees beside her.

Not once did the staccato racket of machine gun fire fall silent.

With a heavy heart, I regained my feet and entered the stairwell. I fell more than walked down the three flights.

The foyer imitated a smoky warzone. Fires raged in the seating area. A car was buried in the front desk. Then I saw him.

“Gary!”

He was the building’s janitor. He was a Downs Syndrome sufferer with a big heart and work ethic to match. The building always gleamed when he was finished.

“Gary!”

He lay close to the front door amid a pile of rubble and carnage. Another body lay broken not far away. I knew the car had crushed him as it smashed into the building. My knees buckled as I reached and shook him.

He opened a swollen eye and smiled, “I saw Godzilla. He …” Gary slumped again.

“Gary, wake up!”

“I – I’m here. He’s real …”

“Good Whatever that thing is, it…”

His eyes rolled, he convulsed, blood oozed from his mouth and he was gone.

“Gary! No Gary come on!” I yelled. It was no use, he was dead in my arms.  “Damn it!”

Unable to control my tears again, I staggered over the broken glass and rubble that remained of the entrance doors and made it outside.

I was in time to see a soldier flying through the air. He was screaming until his body cracked onto a car bonnet and disappeared through the windscreen.

The monster let out a hideous scream.

My world flashed to nothing as the loudest roar I ever heard ended the city in a cataclysmic, mushrooming explosion.

Everything was white, serene and calm. This was what it felt like to die in a nuclear blast.

Wait something was ringing in my ears.

I was too hot, I shook myself and jolted upright. Immediately I fell to the floor. I swore and stood. I was wearing the grey shirt and trousers I wore for the office’s annual Easter movie trip. I was clean and healthy, aside from a headache too. Why was I on that gurney?

“Woah, take it easy, mate,” said a man wearing a black shirt with white accents coming toward me.

I didn’t recognise him.

“We’re alright,” he added, face full of emotion.

“That’s a relief,” I managed before he was hugging me for all he was worth.

I’d never been a hugger, but this one was the best I’d ever felt. It was welcome in ways I couldn’t express. I hugged back with relief pouring from me, “Thank you. What happened? I saw the city being destroyed by a monster I …”

“Cloverfield.” He released me.

“What?” I remembered watching the movie moments before the city —

“Some practical joker decided to spike our drinks with magic mushroom powder and sleeping pills while we watched Cloverfield.”

I found myself gasping for air. “It was a dream?”

The man smiled and hugged me again. “Just a dream, you’re going to be just fine.”

“Thank goodness,” I took a deep breath. “That practical joker won’t be fine if I catch him. He’ll look like he met a monster too!”

We both laughed as we left the cinema as friends.

The End


Thanks for reading my friends.

There’s more in the Poetry CornerPoetry Nook, and the Short Story Collection

Have a great day!

39 thoughts on “A Moment’s Apocalypse

Add yours

    1. Hello, Isadora.
      Thank you so much. It’s tough trying to describe things like pain isn’t it. I was trying several different was to get into what he was going through. Glad you like this one, thanks for reading.

      Like

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started